The Easter Dress

For you created my inmost being, you knit me together in my mother’s womb . . . I am fearfully and wonderfully made;” (Psa. 139:13, 14)).

“Here, let’s try these two dresses on,” I tried to coax.

“But I don’t like green and the other is too scratchy.”

We were shopping for an Easter dress and were no closer to finding one that we both agreed upon than when we first began. What happened to the little girl who didn’t care what color the dress was as long as it “twirled” when she spun around? And when did she start noticing the fabric of a dress?

Something was going on and I was not adjusting. For years I simply picked out the dress I liked and brought it home. Sure, the last couple of years I began to notice a change, but I thought it was cute that my daughter wanted to help pick out a dress. She always ended up with my choice but I thought it was because she and I had the same taste. And why not we were mother and daughter, but here we were, searching for her eighth Easter dress and things were not going as smoothly as in the past.

“What about this one? It looks so pretty on you. We can get a bow for your ponytail.”

With downcast eyes she whispered, “I don’t want to wear my hair up, I want to wear it down.”

Okay, so I can deal with the hair, but I still wanted the dress so gently I said, “We will worry about your hair later, what do you think about the dress?”

With no thought to her comment she told me it was too frilly and that she didn’t like lace. Too frilly . . . an Easter dress with no frills and no lace, why I couldn’t imagine. What was next to go? Patton leather shoes?

Before I could take the other dress off the hanger she had one I didn’t even see her bring into the dressing room. Not to cause another scene, I left her alone. I watched her pull the plain beige dress with blue flowers over her head and adjust the front so the dainty buttons were in a straight line. She tilted her head and smiled at her reflection in the mirror.

“Mom, this is the one I want,” she announced proudly.

I began to try and talk her out of it when I noticed her eyes glistening with fresh tears. As I looked into her dark beautiful brown eyes, I heard her softly ask, “Do you not think what I like is pretty?”

Oh my, I was taken back with the realization that this child before me was not me, but her own person – the person God created her to be. God quickly spoke to the Spirit within me and reminded me that my daughter was fearfully and wonderfully made and woven by Him in my womb.

With tears in my own eyes I reached out for this one that God had created and as I held her close I apologized. Never again would I try and change who God had created her to be.

Dear Lord,

Help me to see my child as you see her. Help me to be aware that as she grows, she is following the desires that You placed in her and becoming the woman that You intended her to be. Yes, she is wonderfully made and I thank you for knitting this beautiful child in me.

Leave a Reply

